Thursday, 26 June 2014

Speech in Parliament - Casey Electorate: Queen's Birthday Honours List - 19 June 2014

Mr TONY SMITH (Casey) (13:50): Today I want to pay tribute to five residents from the electorate of Casey who were recognised recently with the Queen's Birthday honours.

Four received the Medal of the Order of Australia—OAM: Mr Ion Whykes for services to the community of Healesville—he was Charter President of the Healesville Rotary in 1977 and principal of the Healesville High School between 1974 and 1993; Vaughan Hinton of Monbulk for services to the media through television production and to the community of Monbulk—he was the executive producer of the Compass program for 14 years, a member of the Monbulk CFA since 2006 and its secretary since 2008; Rosemary Shaw of Croydon for service to the community through a range of volunteer roles, including the Office of the Public Advocate, Yooralla and the Wesley Mission; and Pauline Jones of Chirnside Park for service to people with a disability over many years—she was a cofounder of the Melba Support Services.

And, finally, a Public Service Medal was awarded to Russell Goodman of Lilydale for outstanding public service and leadership to Victoria's bee industry, on the science of beekeeping, disease threats and responses.

Read 4069 times